Cracked wheat with eggplant + leeks + garbanzo beans

January 12, 2010

Monday kicked my butt.  I actually thought I was masking my scatter-brainedness rather well with a carefully choreographed series of motions and scripted exchanges delivered at strategically chosen times over the course of the day… until I tried to make dinner.  And washed an onion.  And, while opening a can of garbanzo beans, got splashed with bean juice both on the forehead and, intriguingly, up by my left elbow under a long sleeve. And then sat down to write about it and typed “eggplant” with two ts.  And typed “typed” with two ps.

But you know what’s great about eggplantt and leeks and cracked wheat and garbanzo beans?  You really can’t go wrong, even with markedly diminished cognitive skills.  For that, on a night like this, I’m most grateful.

Cracked wheat with eggplant + leeks + garbanzo beans

  • 1 cup cracked wheat
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 Chinese eggplant
  • 1 leek
  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • 1 can tomato sauce (my cupboard suggested “Spanish style” and I didn’t argue)
  1. I sauteed the cracked wheat in some olive oil just because that made me happy.  Then the water joined the party, and it all boiled and then simmered for some 20 minutes or so.
  2. In the meantime, I sauteed the onion and eggplant in a separate skillet, all the while getting rather distracted by The Daily Show.  So, I think I added oregano, parsley, salt, and pepper.  It kind of tasted like I had.
  3. Then, when the eggplant and onions became soft, the leeks and tomatoes went in for an additional couple of minutes.  And lastly, after the forehead + elbow splash incident, the garbanzos jumped in.
  4. And then we ate and were happy.
2 Responses to “Cracked wheat with eggplant + leeks + garbanzo beans”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I think your day sounds a lot like any day I have m’dear. Last night, made my hubby a pitcher of tea, whilst making myself a bowl of cereal. I poured the milk into the tea leaves, about 2 cups worth…. left me with no milk and wasted expensive leaves.

    I still want garbanzo beans… mmmmmm

  2. Gaby Says:

    Dear Onepot, thats what I call improvising! That is awesome how you came about making this post so fun to read, and I think you are a funny and entertaining writer. It just so happens that eggplant is my favorite, so are leeks, and garbanzo beans are an added plus. Im greek so any time I read about dishes that have my favorite veggies, I have to see how they are prepared. Geez Louise, all my favorite foods. This is my first visit to your site and it’s exceptional. Well organized, well written and great clear pictures. I shall enjoy returning for a bite of more. Thank you for sharing,
    Ciao, Gaby
    You can visit me at http://ptsaldari.posterous.com


Leave a Reply

