Pizza with prosciutto + arugula + capers

December 29, 2009

I went to work after a five-day fiesta of holiday spectacularness and tried to get a couple of things done.  Really I did.  But alas, my return was less than impressive.  I can’t quite bring myself to confess  just how long it took me to compose half a dozen  e-mails with clumsy fingers that seemed to be receiving instructions from a pudding-filled skull.  I finally gave up–in part because of the garbagey quality of what I was turning out, and in part because the office assistant was piercing me with looks that I was slow to interpret as “if you leave, I can leave!  no one else is here!  what the hell, woman?”

And so I came home and undertook a much more successful pursuit: one that involved eating capers straight from the jar and feeding bits of prosciutto to the Giant Kitty.  And look, I even managed to make a pizza!

Pizza dough

  • 1.5 cup white flour + 0.5 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon yeast
  • 2/3 cup lukewarm water
  1. Combine the water, honey, and yeast.  Let this initially less-than-attractive fluid rest for 3-4 minutes, until it’s all jolly and bubbly.
  2. Add flour; knead.
  3. Let the dough rest in a warm and cozy place for 30 minutes while you look at Facebook photos of that high school friend who really let herself go.  Call your husband to have a look.
  4. Knead the dough again; let it rest for another 20-30 minutes.
  5. Roll out the dough, add toppings, and bake at 400F for 15 minutes.

Toppings:

  • 4-5 tablespoons tomato sauce
  • prosciutto
  • capers
  • cheese (we used Chimay vieux just because that’s what we had)
  • arugula (add this after the pizza is done but still sitting in the oven for a minute or two)
Leave a Reply

