Saturdaying

December 19, 2009

5 Responses to “Saturdaying”

  1. Carrie Says:

    Clementines? Blood Oranges? Citrus is always better in the Winter to me for some reason. I guess it’s kind of like liquid sunshine!

  2. onepot Says:

    These are clementines (in season right now!). So delicious, but with so many seeds…

  3. Carrie Says:

    I’m kind of glad they’re clementines. Blood oranges, just don’t do anything for me at all.

    Hey… I’m one lucky devil woman! Saturday: hubby’s work Christmas party – typical mid-west buffet: fried chicken, noodles, mashed potatoes, green beans, rolls – and desserts, home made mile high coconut cream pie, cheesecake and pecan pie – why am I lucky? I stayed late to help the boss do a couple of things, and I got to take home every last left over. He even went down the street and bought me the really super nice “take alongs” containers I needed to pack it all up. I spent til late repacking for freezing – but we got 2 meals today out of what I didn’t freeze. THEN –

    Church party today – they bought a gigantic ham – not enough people showed up, so they gave ME the left over ham. Everyone else in our church is elderly or doesn’t have children, so I think they thought I’d do best with all that ham. I brought it home, spent 2 hours clearing it off the lovely shank and have 10 quart bags of ham in my freezer now too. I also ended up with about 8 pounds of spectacular sweet potatoes and some frozen/fresh corn. MMMMMMMMM I have to relinquish the bone to my MIL at Christmas.

    Now, I need 800 things to do with ham.

  4. onepot Says:

    Carrie, how about some split pea + ham soup?

  5. Carrie Says:

    Hmmmm that does sound good – wonder if I could get the kids to eat it – I haven’t had that in so long, getting kids almost guarantees that food like that goes by the wayside.

    My 8 yo doesn’t like much but chicken nuggets and hot dogs. Gosh.. he’s 9 now.


Leave a Reply

