Cookies: Why? How? Help!

December 3, 2009

Here’s a confession: when it comes to cookies, I am a complete idiot.  Where to even start?

First, there’s the why.  Sure, I’ve made chocolate chip cookies before… and they were just fine.  But, while I love both dough and chocolate, I can’t think of a very compelling reason to dirty many a bowl in order to combine them into a dessert when I could, for instance, just eat some chocolate straight.  I mean, look:

No improvement needed, right?  And chocolate is just one example, since this applies to so many other traditional cookie components.

And then there’s the butter thing.  I look at cookie recipes every once in a while and think, “Ooh!  Let’s make that!” … only to have my enthusiasm crash with a loud thud as soon as I see the amount of butter involved.  The mere thought of a whole cup of butter folded into, say, some luscious shortbread instantly causes me to envision Mr. Onepot clutching his chest and keeling over from a heart attack at the age of 40.

[Now, don’t get me wrong: we ADORE butter.  And we’re no health nuts (remember, just yesterday I told you how I will spend the coming winter in the me-shaped dent on the sofa?).  It’s just that I’d prefer not to tuckpoint my husband’s insides with cupfuls of dairy fat, lest I should end up a butter widow.]

So, please help!  What am I missing?  Surely there are some delightful, un-fussy, un-deadly cookies that I could be making right now if I only knew they existed?

9 Responses to “Cookies: Why? How? Help!”

  1. magpie Says:

    Okay, here’s a post with two recipes – one with butter, one with shortening.

    http://www.magpiemusing.com/2008/12/cookies-christmas-and-otherwise.html

  2. onepot Says:

    Thanks for the ideas! I think I’m ready to tackle this.

  3. Carrie Says:

    OK… awesome tasting cookies, no butter, little guilt –
    1 box funfetti cake mix
    1 egg
    1 container cool whip

    beat the living crap out of it – you’ll have to, it’s a stiff batter, spoon sized drops, at 350 for 11-13 minutes. You’ll be surprised how good they are, and pretty darned guilt free

  4. Carrie Says:

    Honestly you can use any flavor cake mix you want, but we all think the funfetti has the best flavor. If you google this, you’ll find recipes that call for icing instead of cool whip – I can’t be held accountable for those cookies.

    http://www.pillsburybaking.com/products/product_detail_tier2.aspx?catID=257&prodID=692

  5. Carrie Says:

    oh and btw – I want you to report back on these. I don’t mean I’m forcing you make a post… but could you let me know here what you find out?

    Also, I was just digging through our family recipe and found this. Tony Randall Cookies.
    1/4# butter (that’s not too horrible, is it?)
    small cream cheese
    1 cup sugar
    1 cup flour
    9 walnuts (yes, it specifies exactly 9) finely chopped
    Combine all ingredients, put small dollops of dough on cookie sheet, back at 350 til just turning brown – makes 20 cookies…

    • onepot Says:

      It’s a deal, then: I’m going to start working on my arm strength for the funfetti beating next weekend!

      And 9 walnuts? That works out perfectly, since that’s usually how many are left a day or so after I buy a pound, unless I put them into something–like baklava–right away. (Ever tried walnuts straight from the freezer as a snack? Oh, so good.)

  6. Carrie Says:

    Pssstt…. just thought of one more calorie saving dessert.

    If you make a boxed cake mix – cut out all the ingredients and use 1 can of diet soda instead, bake as usual. If you use a white cake, you can add flavored sodas to make new flavors in your cake.

  7. Carrie Says:

    I don’t eat walnuts anymore 😦 I’m allergic to all convoluted nuts (pecans, walnuts, hickory etc.) it makes me sad, except for the black walnuts which are gross anyway.

    gosh, I just re-read this and I sound so bossy!


Leave a Reply

