Long bean + bell pepper stir-fry

November 5, 2009

IMG_4166

Surely I’m violating my slippery commitment to locavorism by continuing my love affair with these wrinkled yard-long pods, since I’m pretty certain they are not Chicagoans.  But, between their mysterious good looks and their lovely name–vigna unguiculata! —how am I to resist?

IMG_4154

  • ~1lb long beans, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 onion
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 3 bell peppers (in my case: 1 red, 1 yellow, 1 orange)
  • soy sauce
  • fish sauce (what, this gives you the willies?  skip it, then)
  • 5-6 scallions
  1. Steam the beans for ~5 minutes.  (I know what you’re thinking and yes, I did try this once without steaming them first.  A touch on the stringy side!)
  2. Saute the onion, peppers, and garlic for 2-3 minutes.  Add a splash of soy sauce and a splash of fish sauce.  Keep sautéing for another couple of minutes.
  3. Add the beans and toss it all together.  Stir and toss and stir and toss for another minute or so.
  4. Don’t forget the scallions on top.

And won’t your coworkers be jealous when you pull out such handsome leftovers at lunch the next day?

3 Responses to “Long bean + bell pepper stir-fry”

  1. Molly Smith Says:

    This looks delicious! I love bell peppers in stir fry. I love bell peppers period… but this looks great!

  2. magpie Says:

    They might could be local – I can get them at the Greenmarket in NYC…


Leave a Reply

