Spinach + pear + quinoa salad with blue cheese and walnuts

October 30, 2009

IMG_3896

Do you ever find yourself promising a dozen of your dearest friends homemade baklava?  And then, much later, realize that you need to spend a perfectly inconvenient weeknight elbow-deep in butter and sugar and nuts in order to keep this promise?

No?

Well, if you ever do, here’s what you should throw together for a quick dinner just after you’ve tucked the baklava into the oven and just before your blood sugar levels plummet below the safe-for-husband threshold:

  • 2-3 fistfuls of fresh spinach
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 2 pears
  • 1 fistful of walnuts
  • a toss of blue cheese crumbles
  • a splash of balsamic vinegar
2 Responses to “Spinach + pear + quinoa salad with blue cheese and walnuts”

  1. Laurie Says:

    OMG, I can’t believe I just found out about your blog!! I just passed it along to my Grandma too since we were just discussing recipes that would allow us to use quinoa! Your meals are visually stunning and I’m betting just as pleasantly shocking to the taste buds. I’m loving your blog.

  2. onepot Says:

    Laurie, thanks! I’ve been a fan of your blog for, oh, at least 2 years, and this means a lot. Now I feel like a bit less of a stalker. 🙂 I’m glad to exchange quinoa advice for cute kid videos any time. (Oh, and from now on I will be on my best behavior, since I know your Grandma will be reading.)


Leave a Reply

