Chayote

January 11, 2010

Thanks to Serious Eats, I was tempted to tackle a new vegetable.  Hello, chayote!

eyes and lipstick needed, no?

I held this puppy up for Mr. Onepot to inspect, and he assured me that it was “that fruit we once had.”  Silly boy.  A quick consultation with my baby Jesus revealed that I was actually holding a squash.   Really?  “Ok,” I figured, “I can work with that,” especially given this nice and simple recipe as a starting point.

  • 2 chayotes
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 lime
  • salt, pepper, oregano, parsley, red pepper flakes
  • balsamic vinegar
  1. While the onion was sauteing, I cut the chayote into long slices.  Pretty and all–but  again, squash?  It was looking decidedly like an unripe pear.
  2. I tossed this pear-like thing onto the onions, cringing a little.  Then I squeezed the lime on top of it all, added salt + pepper + red pepper flakes, and let it simmer for 5 minutes…
  3. …at which point it tasted like an unripe pear with lime and onions.  Unacceptable.
  4. That’s how the oregano, parsley, and balsamic vinegar became involved.  And the whole thing simmered for another 1o minutes.

And what do you know.  Somehow, the unripe pear became acceptable.  If chayote were a person, you’d have to worry about it joining a cult–it’s that susceptible.  But in a vegetable, I suppose, this is not necessarily bad.  It seems that you can influence it in any direction; it will simply need a lot of guidance.

5 Responses to “Chayote”

  1. shawncita Says:

    I LOVE chayote in a cream soup – sautee onions until translucent, add diced chayote, simmer till soft in chicken broth, season to taste (I love a bit of cilantro, some chile, and a bit of oregano), add a splash of heavy cream once the squash is soft, and puree…serve with another dollop of cream (or creme fraiche or crema mexicana) on top, maybe some scallions…yum!

  2. onepot Says:

    Now THAT sounds fantastic!

  3. shawncita Says:

    Try it – it will put all your unripe pear suspicions waaaaay behind you. :)


  4. [...] tackled chayote. While the results weren’t necessarily bad, Onepot said that if chayote were a person, [...]

  5. tigerfish Says:

    I like chayote. Good in salads, stir fries and soups!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

