Funfetti cookies, per reader request

December 17, 2009


Is it possible to resist a recipe that contains the line “beat the living crap out of it”?  If you are me, it most certainly is not.  So, reader Carrie, you had me at “crap” when you answered my cookie plea with your Funfetti recipe a couple of weeks ago.

But wait…  What was this Funfetti thing that I was supposed to purchase and beat into submission?  It sounded intriguing and entirely inedible.  This was clearly going to involve a trip to The Big Grocery Store, which I usually skip in favor of  shops where I can find mysterious animal parts, Buddah’s hands, and partially Americanized folk just like me.

And so I ventured  into The Big Grocery Store and found Funfetti (holiday version, even!).  But then I realized that I hadn’t brought Carrie’s recipe and had no idea what else I needed; oops.  So, I got some eggs (that’s what the Funfetti box suggested, both in writing and in pictures) and assumed I would be more or less set.

Wrong.  Apparently, I was supposed to get Cool Whip.   But I plowed on, figuring that the Funfetti mix would be difficult to offend (it looked so resilient! like something that would survive a nuclear holocaust).  And indeed, the substitutions that follow turned out to be just fine.

Funfetti cookies

  • 1 box Funfetti mix (set sprinkles aside)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup oil
  1. Combine everything and–you knew this was coming!–beat the living crap out of it.  (I sure hope you have a free-standing mixer, because you will essentially be handling wet cement.)
  2. Place teaspoon-sized drops onto a greased cookie sheet and drop some sprinkles onto each.
  3. Bake for 10-12 minutes at 375F.

Disclaimer: I did not contribute a single shred of creativity to this recipe.  (But, I did learn what Funfetti is.  And I made some tasty, tasty cookies.)

7 Responses to “Funfetti cookies, per reader request”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I do hope that you really liked them. I like the sweet/tart taste they have, it’s the cake mix flavor I guess that I like.

    Beat the crap out of them IS the only way to describe it, isn’t it? I’m concerned though…. the funfetti we buy has the sprinkles already incorporated in the mix… are we buying a different brand of Funfetti?

    If you want to drop more of the fat, go for the Cool-whip and make your cakes with a can of diet-soda instead of the eggs and oil and you’ll reduce a ton of fat.

    *giggles* I feel so special today! Thank you!

  2. onepot Says:

    This was “holiday” Funfetti: the red and green sprinkles came in a separate pouch. And yes, they were quite delicious. Thanks for the idea!

  3. huntfortheverybest Says:

    cute!

  4. Catalina Says:

    Oh yum!
    I make a cookie like this, but they are called Lemon Yum Yums.
    Lemon cake mix, 2 eggs, 1 stick of butter. Mix and then roll 1 Tbs sized balls in powdered sugar. Bake. Eat.
    I tried chocolate too, but they weren’t as good.

  5. onepot Says:

    Thanks for the idea, Catalina!


  6. A nice recpe idea you have here. I am always looking for more ideas to keep the kids entertained with and this one might just do the trick so thank you for sharing it.

  7. Carrie Says:

    Yeah, but that stick of butter kind of defeats the less butter idea!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

