Potato and rutabaga gratin

December 4, 2009

Our kitchen was still groaning from the post-holiday root vegetable overload when I poked around tonight in search of dinner inspiration.  (Apparently, I have inherited my mom’s inability to match the amount of purchased/prepared food to the number of people who will ultimately consume it.  If I’m able to close the fridge without having to lean against the door, I begin to worry about impending starvation.)  So, look what became of all those taters and rutabagas:

Potato and rutabaga gratin

  • 1 lb fingerling potatoes, cubed
  • 1 rutabaga, cubed
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1.5 cup  buttermilk (fat-free, in our case)
  • 2 eggs
  • blue cheese crumbles to taste (a small fistful, for instance)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • fresh dill to taste
  1. Place the potatoes, rutabaga, and onion into a shallow baking dish.  Coat with olive oil, salt, pepper.  Bake at 400F for ~25 minutes.
  2. Combine the eggs, buttermilk, blue cheese, dill in a mixing bowl; whisk to combine.  Pour over the root vegetables.
  3. Continue to bake for another 30 or so minutes, until it’s as tantalizingly delicious as the picture above.
6 Responses to “Potato and rutabaga gratin”

  1. kathy Says:

    Love the looks of this gratin. I kept forgetting I had bought rutabaga (which I love, so it’s okay)so I now have 3 to do something with, and will try this.

    I have a rutabaga/carrot/cauliflower casserole I’ll get posted sometime.

    The only kind of buttermilk I can get is fat-free. Do you have something else available where you are?

    (Kathy, but also SE’s lemonfair)

  2. onepot Says:

    Hi Kathy!

    I think your rutabaga will keep for many, many months to come; they seem pretty non-perishable. :-)

    We can get the full-fat buttermilk here in Chicago, but there seems to be nothing in between that and the fat-free kind. I find the fat-free buttermilk so rich tasting that I can only begin to imagine what the other version is like!

  3. Donalyn Says:

    Looks really good. I love rutabagas – such a complex flavor! I will have to give this one a try.

  4. onepot Says:

    Thanks, Donalyn. It’s super-easy, too.

  5. Lady of RoG Says:

    So making this tonight – with yukon golds and turnips. Thanks for the great idea!

  6. onepot Says:

    Thanks, Lady of RoG; enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

